2548 of Grantham is ready for Leaman Road ‘1938’

First locomotive for the 1938 period is now finished before moving onto the layout.  I took my time with this one, constantly checking the photograph I was working from. Must have been a 3 hour job in total. 2548 ‘Galtee More’ is stabled at Grantham in 1938, and most likely York was a changing point for Southern Area locomotives. The photo I have used as my basis is one I posted a link to a few pages back. It’s a colour rail photo showing 2548 under York’s Cenotaph.
Image
Image
Something different I’m going to do with my 1938 fleet is have changeable coal loads. It crossed my mind when modelling 1950 that certain locos coming from further afield I had added a small amount of coal, but that means I can’t show them loaded up moving off Shed.So what I’ve done is represent 2548 with a full load, by building up real coal on top of the Hornby tender insert. The colour rail photo shows a full load piled high after coming off the coaling stage, which I’ve tried to replicate.

Image

As the coal is firmly glued in place I can just lift out, to reveal a more sparse coal load.
Image
I’m not having a decoder added in her yet, as I’m going to be trying her out on a suitable layout in a month or so.
Locos next for work will be 2571 ‘SUNSTAR’ and 4901 ‘CAPERCAILLIE’
4 thoughts on “2548 of Grantham is ready for Leaman Road ‘1938’

  1. Hi Tom
    I’m interested in the issue of coaling. I thought, perhaps wrongly, that locos for express working utilised smaller coals, although how this might be done is beyond me, other than with mechanical coalers with separate bunkers. These were less common in the North East where manual coaling was more common. I do know that it was common practice for firemen to enter the tender en route, to break up the larger lumps, but quite as large as on your (magnificent) model?

    Regarding the model it really is first class. Cleaned as far as could be reached and filthy beyond. It has that hard to emulate oily rag patina .

    I’ll enjoy seeing how your site develops.

    Tony.

  2. Hi Tony
    Thanks for your feedback. As far as I know York had the one Coaling Stage, which was the larger mechanical type constructed in the early 1930s. I think York is the last point northwards where such structures were used. Gateshead and Heaton had smaller traditional type coaling stages I believe.

    Cheers

  3. That looks superb Tom,represents a loco in the workaday version of “clean” very well. Will be following this with interest.

    Kevin aka Suddaby!

Leave a Reply

