Rebranding…..

As you have probably seen, my blog has gone through a bit of a revamp. Now that I’m doing modelling other than just LNER, 50AWorks didn’t seem right. I now present TFModelling (make a note of it, as the old link doesn’t work anymore), which I think has an obvious connection to me, as well as to my new modelling project. What is interesting is some of the private messages I have received regarding my new project, and if I’m honest…you would think I was changing religion, rather than modelling another area. I think in some quarters it’s felt that I’m abandoning the LNER. I can assure you that this certainly is not the case. Thirsk is one heck of a long term project, and I’m self employed with an income that fluctuates. I wanted another project that was less complicated, that I can cut my teeth on and build my skill base up, in particular on track and scratch building. Does it really matter that it isn’t LNER?

newhey-3

Not LNER…..but what character!

I’d say I am (or want to be) a modeller. I would much prefer to admire a well built and operated Southern layout, than a crap LNER one. There are many LNER modellers I admire out there who I can also call friends (the likes of Tony Wright and Roy Jackson). However some of the work I find most fascinating comes from modellers who model areas not particular on my radar. My friend Andy Jones’s Herstmonceux , a beautiful layout set on the Southern, certainly worth a look no matter what area you model. Andy Cooper’s New Hay, another prime example of a layout modelled to a stunning standard of realism….his new layout North Ballachulish is certainly one to watch!

New hey station throat

Andy Cooper’s New Hey oozes L&Y!

Regarding the new layout….those who follow MU will have seen the current plans and I will go into more detail next week. In the meantime, I suggest you check out Geoff Forster’s Blog  and his Layout Llangunllo  and Paul Marshall-Potter’s Albion Yard. You could say they are the inspiration behind my current plans….stunning modelling that has set the bar high for me.

Albion Yard

PMP’s Albion Yard….a superb example of modelling realism.

If you feel the blog is no longer for you because it isn’t just about LNER content, then I’m sorry. If you are willing to stay….then I hope you find something of interest on this finescale adventure.

7 thoughts on “Rebranding…..

  1. Hear hear! it’s all about the scratch building! Geoff Llangullo blog is a constant source of inspiration for me too and if Thirsk is half as good as that, then you’ll be on to a winner. If I had the time and money, I’d be ripping up all the Peco and goiunf for hand built too 🙂

    Looking forward to seeing this develop

    ee

  2. Everyone has a certain patisan preference, but as you indicate there is some fabulous modelling that goes beyond specific preferences… and that is certainly to be encouraged.

    No doubt, your new project will provide its challenges… the thing is to have no regrets and enjoy what you’ll be doing.

    My best, Nick

  3. Good on you Tom, for not being constrained by what other people think you should be modelling and going your own way, whatever that way is! Said as someone who also loves the LNER but realises there are many other railways worthy of investigation.
    Cheers,
    John E.

  4. I fully agree with you Tom, and am pleased you have the courage to do so. Funny, “courage” for a simple act of a different location. And “religion” is a suitable metaphor given the short-sightedness of more than a few. I once said that in the privacy of my own home I occasionally enjoyed putting a rather nice GW Castle in front of my Pullman-rake – they are so damn elegant! I posted this on a very well known ECML layout thread and the silence was deafening…. You’d think I’d changed religion as you say.

    I look forward to what ever you do!

    Tony aka BRMweb Brass0four.

  5. Those LNER boys can’t have your super weathering skills all to themselves 🙂 us from the other regions want to see some Panniers, West Country’s, Duchesses – whatever! You set such a high standard I’m sure if you started weathering Thomas the Tank engine you’d have as many admirers! Keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

