Birthdays, Trains and Photography

Hopefully in the right order as stated above! Today is my 29th Birthday, one year off the big Three Zero!!

Numerous goodies welcomed me today….and should keep me out of mischief! 10409724_10152463583502984_1118838219743504116_n

I’ve also spent an enjoyable day with my four legged best friend on the North Yorkshire Coast….on a a former railway trackbed no less….what could be better?

10641036_10152463262287984_7335756040855226356_n

Now yesterday, I spent an enjoyable day operating Tony Wright’s Little Bytham with my good friend Simon Roberts. Tony insists on good running, and yesterday was no exception. As a parting Birthday gift, Tony made a disk with a selection of photos of locos I’ve weathered, some my own, others and his own that I’ve worked on. Tony has kindly allowed me to post these online, and here is a selection.

Graham Nicholas’s 4479 ‘Robert the Devil’ which I weathered for his layout ‘Grantham’

4479 01

4479 03 B&W

Tony’s A3 60054 ‘Prince of Wales’. Tony asked that I depict her ex works, so I worked from a photo on the front cover of Keith Pirt’s ‘Grantham’ book. The photo on the cover was actually Sir Frederick Branbury, however her boiler and tender combinations were exactly the same.

60054 03

Tony’s K1, built from a DMR kit. Lovely loco to work on. I used a photo from the Ian allen book ‘LNER 2-6-0s’.

K1 33 finished

Finally, Tony’s Hornby B1 which I photographed at the end of last week. As I think I mentioned at the time, I worked from a photo from the Hugh Ballantyne book ‘Eastern Region Steam in Colour’. Ironically, Tony’s loco is a Colwick engine….as was the photo I worked from in the book.

DSC_1388

DSC_1387

Right, I think that’s enough photos for now (apologies it’s been a bit of a photo heavy post). I need to crack on with detailing up my first 57XX…..no excuses now I have those ‘Pannier Papers’!

6 thoughts on “Birthdays, Trains and Photography

  1. Happy Birthday Tom! I wish it was my big 3-0 next – two more & I’ll be double that!!

    And I don’t see any need for apologising for a picture heavy post when they are of such lovely loco’s! Excellent weathering on them all!

    Keith

    PS – happy looking doggie too!

  2. Happy Birthday Tom and thanks for making me feel rather ancient 🙂

    Enjoy your presents and detailing the Pannier and thanks for sharing those lovely photos.

Leave a Reply

