Modelling and Festive Musings.

Well, the first term of teaching is nearly done, and I’m very much looking forward to enjoying the Christmas break. It also allows some time to reflect on the year gone. On a personal level, my Father has had a number of problems this year, so we are all hoping that some new medication will bring him a much more enjoyable 2015.

On the modelling front, after some unfortunate incidents at the beginning of the year thanks to certain individuals, Modellers United has gone from strength to strength. I would like to take this opportunity to thank the members of MU for keeping me on the straight and narrow, giving me help and inspiration on my current modelling project ‘Trawsfynydd.

On a more recent note, I spent another enjoyable day ‘toy train related’. In the morning I visited Paul Marshall-Potter, partly social and partly business transaction…. Paul has bought my DCC operating system from me. Paul kindly showed me how to break down the Bachmann Pannier, so work on the cab and bunker can be done separately.

post-18225-0-37976300-1418071036

After an enjoyable morning with Mr Marshall-Potter, I headed south for an afternoon of operating trains on Tony Wright’s Little Bytham. Once again Tony was a superb host, and a lovely lunch was provided by Mo. What can be better than spending a day with friends, with a good portion of banter thrown in for good measure….not much I think!

K1 33 finished

My good friend Simon Robert’s had some items for me which he had picked up at Warley on my behalf, plus some little extras. Simon kindly offered me some GWR bits and bobs including at Ratio Toad kit and a Perseverance Kits 14/58XX chassis etch. I had already picked up the Mainly Trains detailing etch and airfix body…so this was the icing on the cake! Tony Wright has offered to give me some tuition on putting it together (as part of our horse trading). So my 58XX project (5810 or 5811) will be very much something for next year.

10518835_10152548633182984_6316641659121170097_n

Finally, last night further work was undertaken on my 8750 (to become 4643) in the form of removing the heavy grill moulding and replacing with the Ian Rice etch. As Paul had said to me on Sunday, it allows a lot more light into the cab and looks for finer. Next job will be the Masokit Lamp Irons….wish me luck!

So heres to 2015 and wishing you all a very Merry Christmas!

3 thoughts on “Modelling and Festive Musings.

Leave a Reply

