Pannier Prevails

Evening all!
Well, 4645 is now finished.

_MG_7958

_MG_7960

_MG_7961

I have weathered her, using the Brian Jones photograph from the cover of Book Law/Foxline’s ‘Bala Junction to Blaenau Ffestiniog’ as my guide. The front numberplate was supplied by ‘Pacifc Models‘ and the rear tools were from ‘247 Developments’ (the bucket is a springside fire bucket). The lamp is temporary, Adam (AJC on Modellers United) is working on adding some thinner handles on a couple for me.

4645 is a somewhat special tank engine, as well as being a regular on the Branch in the late 1950’s, she along with sister loco 8791, worked the ‘Stephenson Society Special’ on Sunday 22nd January 1961, the last passenger train on the Bala-Blaenau Branch.

_MG_7963 _MG_7965

This has been a very rewarding project and has made me realise how much I like the 57XX tank engine, something I think that has always been at the back of my mind (probably the Rev W Awdry’s influence). They really do have so much character about them. The adding of the tools and bucket certainly adds to this and it’s easy to think it’s a bit cliche, but it’s all there in the prototype photographs.

This is hopefully the first of several Pannier’s for Trawsfynydd, 8727 will be next sometime in the spring. In the meantime, I’m currently working on adding some detail to a Bachmann unfitted BR 20T Brake Van….as well as researching GWR Toads (will be having a couple of those, of different diagrams).

Cheers

Tom

14 thoughts on “Pannier Prevails

  1. You already have a photo transcript of your efforts… something i’m sure that would be readily adapted and accepted as one of a series of articles in a mainstream mag. concerning Trawsfynydd.

    A hat tip to you, Tom.

    • Hi Mark

      The lamp is just a substitute, as someone is adding new wire handles to mine (Adam ‘AJC’ on Modellers United). The finished ones will certainly be toned down. 😉

  2. Looks wonderful now! I had my reservations about the cabside plates being too large and square, but all weathered up it looks just right. Think I’ll have to up my game on my version!

Leave a Reply

