Wagon Weathering continued…

Since my last update, I’ve been working on a further couple of items of rolling stock. In particular the ex SR unfitted van, and more recently, an ex PO unfitted wagon.

_MG_7991

The ex PO wagon’s first modification was the painting of the interior (the factory finish was a sort of maroon/brown colour). I then began work on the body side, with various washes before moving on to the under frame. I finished off with some variation in powder colour on the under frame.

_MG_7988

_MG_7992

_MG_7989

I have to say, working on rolling stock has been a real eye opener. Most of my weathering has been focused on locomotives and coaches. Possibly through naivety (or ignorance) I thought I could transfer my skill base straight over without any problems….. it hasn’t been that simple. I’ve found that wagons have a required a bit more thought, and variation to achieve the desired results. I probably spent longer on that open, than I have on some of my own locomotives. It’s fair to say Ian Fleming’s Windcutter Blog has been a great source of inspiration and help. In my opinion Ian’s work on wagons is up their with the likes of Geoff Kent. Ian has achieved a very naturalistic look with his models (the rusty 16Ts are a thing of beauty) and if I can achieve a fraction of that look and texture, I’ll be a happy man. Plenty more RTR wagons to be working on (plus some kits I’ll be picking up at York Show), but my attention will be turning shortly to that item of GWR rolling stock which is just as familiar as the 0-6-0 Pannier Tank….the humble GWR Toad Brake Van. The Toad I shall be working on is the Bachmann model (ex Mainline I believe). I’ll be making some minor modifications  to depict this as an alternative diagram, along with a repaint and custom made transfers (courtesy of Nick Davies). Meanwhile, Andy Jones is give me a great amount of help planning Cwm Prysor. I’m intending to order the baseboards at the beginning of April.

5 thoughts on “Wagon Weathering continued…

  1. Weathering minerals and other wagons is great fun but can turn into an obsession. I have had to do over 50 for Kirkmellington and my aim was for each to be different. Techniques gleaned from the Wild Swan books, Windcutter and other magazine articles steered me in the right direction. To be honest, I’d love to have another 50 wagons to do!

    Yours looks fantastic.

  2. Those wagons are very nice indeed Tom, lovely work. As for your Toad there is a very good article by Iain and his partner in crime Ken Gibbons in the May 1998 issue of BRM in which they show how to modify and improve the old Airfix and Mainline models.

    I used the article when working on my own toad which is based on the Airfix model and thanks to Iain who gave me permission to use some of his notes and drawings you can find some info here…….. .http://thechroniclesofpenhydd.blogspot.co.uk/2012/02/toad-for-penhydd.html

    • Cheers Geoff
      I indeed have the said article, it was there in noticed the difference in J Hangers…I think the Bachmann model (AA20 diagram?) has the same as the one I want to do (AA15).

      I’ve added a bit more rust on the ironwork of the wagon (photos on MU).

      Out of interest Geoff? Who’s lever frames did you use on Llangunllo?

      • Hi Tom,

        I thought you might have that magazine article but mentioned it just in case.

        My lever frame is made up from Cobalts Tom and I’m very pleased with them, they have a very nice action and are easy to install and wire.

  3. Coming late to this, Tom. I’m flattered by the comparison with Mr Kent but really, we have different approaches. Geoff (as with Adam Chapman) continues to incorporate much fine detail whereas that’s something I’ve consciously backpedalled on a bit in favour of the painting side (which is what I truly relish). Thanks though 🙂

Leave a Reply

