Toad in the Hole

I’ve finally got around to working on that very Great Western of all things, a Toad Brake Van. This isn’t anything fancy, it’s just a simple repaint with minimal detailing. Previous models I have found have been a pain to get into and due to excess glue, I have snapped stanchions off the body, so with this example I haven’t altered the bulk head position. I also haven’t removed the moulded handrails. I did try on a spare body, but…..to be frank, gave up.

The finished result…..I’m happy with it. The main issue for me, was the colour. As regular readers will know, I really do not like Bachmann’s unfitted grey, so the model has been sprayed with Revell 76. I replaced the RCH buffers with GWR (Lanarkshire Models), so that the model resembles something a bit closer to an AA15.

I have fitted Laser glaze at the outer end windows. Annoyingly, when I came to fix the inner windows under the verandah with Klear, both fell through and have stuck inside. I’ll pick some more glazing up at Expo EM North…..or I might just leave it as it is.

I have numbered this Toad as W68669, which is actually preserved at the Llangollen Railway. Thanks to Nicholas Davies for his helpful research, we know W68669 was actually a Bala allocated Toad. The Bachmann model was originally branded Stourbridge which I removed, but retained the rest of the branding. BALA, was made up of Heavy Franklin font transfers from Fox. She was finished off with instanter couplings and weathering.

_MG_8300

_MG_8301

_MG_8304

Next up is an early build BR 12T Van (Bachmann). I have added instanter couplings, tie bars, and upright vac pipes (as fitted to the early batch of BR Vans). I paid special attention on the corrugated ends, trying to differentiate between the wood and the steel.

_MG_8314

_MG_8313

_MG_8315

It really wouldn’t be right to not include a Pannier, so here is 7414 posing alongside the Bala Toad.
_MG_8317

It’s a funny thought that the real 7414 probably shunted the real W68669 over half a century ago……oh to have a time machine!

5 thoughts on “Toad in the Hole

Leave a Reply

