Point work finished!

I don’t think I ever thought I’d be able to manage it, but Cwm Prysor’s point work is completed.

img_3675

img_3674

I’m very pleased with the results and the appearance. The soldering of the tiebar to the switch blades was interesting, but they now work well. The point operation will be manual, using Ken Gibbon’s method with a DPDT switch (I became acquainted with the system when I was operating Ken’s layout at ExpoEM North). Overall though, I have rather enjoyed building point work and this will certainly be the method I use in future, no matter how good RTP track work becomes.

Next stage will be wiring them and operating them, and hopefully……we should have an operational layout (the main layout was wired last week).

We can then move on to ballasting and scening work!! We are getting there!

2 thoughts on “Point work finished!

  1. Great stuff Tom, I knew you could do it 🙂

    I bet it was ever so satisfying to see your stock sail through your first handbuilt point, and along your trackwork.

Leave a Reply

