Oh I do like to be beside the Seaside (If there is an old railway near by!)

For the first time this year, it actually had a slight (yes and I mean slight) feeling of Spring on my walk from Ravenscar to Staintondale. The day hadn’t started out that way, as my first stop had been Darlington which doesn’t really have the glamour of the coast. I had called in to the ‘Ken Hoole Study Centre at Darlington Railway Museum’ to research and photocopy some more information for ‘Project R’. I’m keeping quiet for the moment on this one, but lets just say you will be hearing more about it over the coming year.

After leaving Darlington, it was onwards to the cast. This sort of links in to seeing Bramblewick at York, as it was after seeing the layout in the flesh at the weekend which made me decide to visit the coast today. The photo below looking towards Robin Hoods Bay from Ravenscar makes it very clear in my mind why the late Tom Harland chose this particular line to model. Simply stunning!

Image

For those that do not know it, I’m referring to the Coast line that ran between Whitby and Scarborough. It actually continued northwards from Whitby before eventually reaching the industrial metropolis of Middlesbrough. The line was quiet for 10 months of the year, but come the Summer it was like a miniature Main Line, with a number of excursions. Like many Branchlines, it became a casualty of the mass closures of the 1960s. Today it is a bridal path allowing you to walk the entire 20 miles between Whitby and Scarborough. Our walk today was only a small section, between the old Stations of ‘Ravenscar‘ and ‘Staintondale’.

Journey’s Start – Ravenscar

Ravenscar is a peculiar place in that there really isn’t anything there! It was planned to rival Scarborough and Whitby, but never happened and to be honest I don’t know how it would have competed with the two other large coastal towns. Ravenscar is at the summit of the climb from Robin Hoods Bay and in this instance, where we started our walk.

Image

As can be seen below all that is really left is the ‘Up’ Platform. The ‘Down’ had been of timber construction with the foundations for the ‘Down’ shelter being all that is left.

Image

Image

As we begin our 2.5 mile walk, the sea is very much apparent to our left. Rather lucky with the weather! Like with all railway walks, one can not help but thing about what wonderful iron horses would have pounded the track bed I now walk. A5s, A8s, J25s, B1s, were regulars plus the small class of BR Standard Class 3 tender engines and Standard 4 tanks used to also work the line in it’s later life.

ImageImage

Reminders crop up that tell us the Permanent Way used to pass through here.

Image

The line meandered away from the sea before entering a cutting. As we entered the woods there was a beautiful gorge to the left.

Image

ImageImage

Journey’s End – Staintondale

After our leisurely walk we reach Staintondale Station. A complete contrast from Ravenscar as the photos show. Both Up and Down Platforms are stone and a relatively large Station Building.

ImageImage

As can be seen from all these photos, I wasn’t alone with my faithful companion, Lass who very much enjoyed herself!

I hope that may have been of some interest. I’m back over at the coast in the Summer so hope to do some more Railway Walking along what must have been a beautiful line!

Cheers

Tom

Published by Tom Foster

Musician and Modeller of 4mm

Join the Conversation

8 Comments

  1. What a superb walk – and you were so lucky with the weather. Here in Surrey it snowed for most of the day and the sun was nowhere to be seen! This is one line I would love to have travelled with steam (it would make a great modelling project…) but at least it’s now preserved for walkers to enjoy. Bet you’ll be back there before long!

    1. Last year I walked a few miles east along the track of the old line from Kirkby Stephen East towards the site of Belah Viaduct – crossing two restored viaducts. Great scenery and views, so well worth a visit as you’re no far away – or maybe you’ve already done it?

  2. Was it the 2nd or 3rd April the day you were at the Ken Hoole archive? If so I think I know what Project R is, as I was there! I was the young chap, was finishing off research for a book on the NER in WW1

      1. Bah! I’d have been there, as my car failed it’s MOT the day before at a garage up the road, but decided to cancel my visit thinking it would be a quick fix – spent nearly six hours walking around Darlington instead and cursing myself for cancelling the visit!

Leave a comment